Making Strides

Image

 

Back from vacation! Jet lag is a cruel, cruel mistress. Made it through my first day of work mostly unscathed, although things started a little rough. Forgot my desk key, which is where my laptop hides when I’m not at work. I was slightly crippled for a few hours until my husband could bring me the key on his way to work. Got back to the gym over lunch, and boy am I feeling the days away from the workouts!

 

The best part of today was that had a great conversation with a good friend today and she validated a lot of the thoughts I’ve been having lately. It IS possible to be both happy with now and striving to be a better self. We both are looking for something “more” in our lives. She’s looking to become a parent, and I’m looking to find a career that I feel more fulfilled in. We’re starting an awesome facebook page dedicated towards healthy recipes, workout tips, and starting a discourse with other women about how to stay sane in a crazy world. 

 

Tonight, Jeff and I have the last Euro Moto night of the season. Our motorcycle community gets together and basically ogles each other’s vintage bikes on a secluded area of our awesome Haymarket area downtown. I’ve been dabbling with the idea of joining the community and getting a vintage scooter since we were inundated with so many cool shapes and styles in Rome. Excited to look around tonight and select a few favorites to send Jeff on a search for. Meeting a few friends for some coffee and motors, then it’s back home for dinner. October gets me in a crock pot frame of mind, so we started with this favorite from last year: Slow Cooker Taco Stew. 

slow cooker taco stew

Slow Cooker Taco Stew
 
 Ingredients:
  • 1 Lb Stew Meat
  • 1 15.5 Oz Can Chili Beans
  • 1 15.5 Oz Can Black Beans
  • 1 14.5 Oz Can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 Cup Corn
  • 1 Green Pepper, Sliced
  • 1 Cup Beef Broth
  • 1 Beef Bouillon Cube
  • 1 Tsp Cumin
  • 1 Tbsp Flour or Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

Directions:

In a 4 quart slow cooker combine the stew meat, beans, tomatoes, corn, pepper, beef broth, and bouillon cube. I like to have the liquid come near the top of the cooker, so you depending on the size you use you may want to add a bit more broth or water.

Let this cook on low for 7 1/2 – 8 hours. In the final half hour add in the cumin and flour and mix this together, then let cook an additional 30 minutes. This will allow the stew to thicken a bit.

Until next time, cheers! 

 

Leave a Reply

