Feels Good to be Back!

Image

 

Pretty sure I had that look on my face all throughout class yesterday. That’s right, I’m back to the gym! Taught my first class back since all the health mess yesterday, and it went great. A couple of twinges on my stitches, but nothing that slowed me down. As a matter of fact, at one point an attendee suggested I take it easier on myself after surgery. Not a chance! I felt so good when we were done that if I’d had my headphones, I’d have hopped on an elliptical after class and kept going. But I had two dogs at home crossing their legs until I could get home and let them out, so I headed out afterwards. Did let the boys out and then take a nice 2+ mile walk after that though. In the rain. Yep, I’m not addicted to endorphins or anything…

First day back at work went well yesterday also! Got some good issues resolved, helped some clients, all in a days work. Had a lot of pain when I wasn’t tethered to my heating pad, but that’s to be expected. Also managed to clear up our budget a bit and find some places I can temporarily cut back on spending so we can make some things with our new motorcycle a little less stressful. Both of us completely forgot when we went to sign papers that tax would be due, as would new insurance, my car insurance, and Christmas. Fitting in the new payment is easy, taking care of all the extras in a month, not so much. But I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeve and I think everything will work out fine. Here’s a photo of Jeff’s new ride in case you’re a motorcycle fan: 

Image

 

Last night, we also had a chance to make one of our favorite easy dinners: Sesame Chicken. It’s a really simple recipe, and it takes adaptations really well. We always add some onions and peppers to it so we can get our veggies-and have some leftovers for the next day! Here’s the recipe: 

Sesame Chicken
Servings: 5
Serving Size: 1/5 recipe (about 6 oz chicken)
Nutritional Info: 180.1 calories, 6.5g of fat, 2.1g carbohydrates, .4g dietary fiber, 28.2g of protein

Ingredients

  • 1.5 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into pieces
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp whole wheat flour flour
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp black sesame seeds (you can also use all regular)

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the chicken stock, brown sugar, sesame oil, garlic, soy sauce, and white vinegar together. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, toss the chicken with salt, pepper, and flour.
  4. In a large pan (make sure it’s oven safe) heat the olive oil over medium heat. Once hot, add the chicken in one layer. Cook for three minutes on one side until seared and then flip and cook for another three minutes on the other side.
  5. Turn off the heat and pour the chicken stock mixture over the chicken, stirring to combine.
  6. Place the entire pan in the oven and cook for 20 minutes. Then toss the chicken with sesame seeds and serve.

That photo’s a stock photo-I was too hungry when we got done cooking around 9 to take a picture, had to dive right in! I know tonight, we have a roast all ready to go in the crock pot all day for dinner tonight. Love coming home to the smell of a roast-reminds me of one of my favorite dinners as a kid. Yes, I was a 10 year old kid who loved my meat and taters. Leads me to a few questions for the day: 

What was your favorite meal as a kid? 

Do you have a go-to meal to make when you’re just stumped for ideas? 

What’s your favorite workout class to make you feel like you got a great workout? 

Going to try to get back to some double workouts today so I can get my muscle tone back from being on the shelf the past few weeks. Have a great Wednesday! 

2 thoughts on “Feels Good to be Back!

Leave a Reply

