The Longest Way Round is the Shortest Way Home, aka MiMM

Image

 

Going to try to join the weekly roundup with Katie today and get my thinking back to being Marvelous. Having a whomp whomp kind of morning at work. About a year and a half ago, I decided that I was ready for a change in my job. I like the company I work for, but I’d been doing the same job for about 5 years, and it had become an automated response instead of something that I challenged myself with. I switched from a customer service based position to a position in our data integration department, or tech support. I’m a pretty personable girl, at least at work with clients, and I thought I’d be able to bring that factor in to the tech role where sometimes it’s missing. But the transition has been frustrating, the training isn’t really available to me to learn a lot of the things I need to do this job, and basically I have way more downtime at work than I am comfortable having. So it gets frustrating, and a lot of the time I feel like I made the wrong choice. I miss having contact with people-there’s not a lot of communcation that is not email based or that gets much beyond base level tech speak. At the same time, I have a lot of interest in the wellness field so I’m working my way towards getting more involved with that here. Trying to find ways to make this job a better fit for me, because the bottom line is that I can’t afford to walk away or shift gears right now. 

So what’s the marvelous in my Monday? I get to go have lunch with my Husband today. I get to go for a run after work and then have dinner with our fabulous group of friends like we do each week. I have a job to come to that pays me well and doesn’t stress me out, at least not in the traditional sense. And overall, I’m healthy, happy, and trying to become a more positive person in my interactions with others. That’s all gotta count for something-after all, for whatever struggles you’re having, they could seem like a cake walk to someone else with far different issues. I bet there’s someone out there who wishes they had such a job to go to, a former runner who for whatever reason isn’t physically capable anymore, or someone who doesn’t have the wonderful support system we do. That’s the marvelous in my Monday-appreciating the gifts I’ve been given, whether or not they seem like gifts at the time. 

6 thoughts on “The Longest Way Round is the Shortest Way Home, aka MiMM

Leave a Reply

