Preparations have begun!

davinci

 

the robot machine that will be used in my surgery (source)

 

I have had a day or two to process what I have going on for Thanksgiving weekend, and I’ve moved on to action mode. I’m a planner, so I’m trying to wrap my head around what will need to be done beforehand, what I’ll want done beforehand, etc. I don’t want Jeff to have to think about anything but hanging out with me on the couch, making some darn tasty food, and going about his normal routine while I’m recovering. Of course, he’s told me I’m silly and he’ll do whatever needs done so that I follow my recovery instructions to the letter, but I want to do whatever I can to make it easy on him. So the next few weekends are going to be about getting stuff DONE! Organizing things around the house I’ve let slide. Cleaning things I’ve been putting off. Stocking our cupboards with all the comfort foods I could want. I’ve got a query out on facebook for favorite TV shows and stuff to watch while I’m stuck on the couch.

I tried to research the procedure while I was being a bum on the couch last night, and boy was that a waste of time! A, not much is out there for women my age undergoing a hysterectomy, since the majority of women getting this done are about 10-15 years older than me. B, the recovery time and what to expect seem to vary so widely, I can’t possibly even come up with a general guideline for what to expect. I could be down a few days to four weeks, according to the web research I did. I’m going to bank on at least a week, and hopefully not more, but it would be nice to have a more accurate window. I guess I’m just going to have to realize that my body will heal as fast as it heals-everyone’s experience really is different. And maybe since I’ll be willing things to get better SO FAST, they just will.

Turns out I’ll be getting a root canal Monday, so there’s that to look forward to also. I’m really freaking out about all these medical bills I’m accruing, but I guess there’s nothing I can do about it. We’ll find a way to take care of things; it’s not like we’re broke but it does mean we may have to give up a few things while we’re taking care of these bills. I won’t get to surprise Jeff with a trip for his 30th like I’d planned; both financially and vacation-time-wise, it just won’t work. And that stinks, but that’s life. I’ll just have to find another way to make his birthday memorable.

With all this stress going on, and the fact that I’m going to be inactive for an indeterminate amount of time, it’s become a bit tougher to find the motivation to work out. My brain is pulling the “you’re going to be a slug anyway, might as well just start early” mentality and trying to coax me to sit around instead of go for a run. But I’ve got a few things going on with some relationships in my life that are driving me to relieve stress, and workouts are how I do that. And I’ve come around to the positive spin on this-the healthier I am at the time of surgery, the quicker my recovery will be! So I’m going to pop over to the gym for my lunch break to get rid of some financial stress; have a great weekend!

inspire

2 thoughts on “Preparations have begun!

Leave a Reply

