Baking Cookies!

Since I’m not able to do much working out these days (although I hope that changes SOON), I’ve gone to a few of my favorite pastimes I haven’t had a chance to spend as much time on lately: baking and knitting. Right now, when stuck on the couch, I’ve been splitting time between finishing a 3 year old scarf and working on a new blanket for my friend’s baby. The scarf for me, predictably, is in these colors: 

Image

And the baby blanket is more like this: 

Image

I’ve even joined up with some awesome ladies in the bike community to have our first knitting session together-our group is called Sharing Needles and I love it! We get together tomorrow-and I decided to bake cookies for the event. I’ll be making this new recipe for the crew. 

Image

Ingredients

1 + 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt 
1 cup (one 8-ounce package) cream cheese, softened 
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 large egg
3/4 cup rainbow sprinkles

Instructions: 

  • In a medium bowl sift together flour, baking powder and salt.
  • In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat cream cheese and butter on low speed until smooth about 1 minute. Add sugar gradually and mix until light and fluffy about 2 minutes.
  • Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add vanilla and egg. Beat to combine. Add the dry ingredients and mix on low until just combined. Do not overmix. Chill batter 2 hours or overnight.
  • Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Add 1/2 the sprinkles to a wide shallow bowl (add more as needed). Scoop up rounded tablespoons of dough and form into balls – they don’t have to be perfect – the dough is sticky – you can wet your hands lightly – drop into the sprinkles and coat all sides – set on baking sheet 2-inches apart.
  • Bake 12-14 minutes until lightly golden on the bottom. Cool on baking sheets 10 minutes then on wire racks.

I have a bunch of Christmas Color Sprinkles just itching to be used; I’m thinking of cutting the butter and using some applesauce instead to lighten up the recipe. I did that with this recipe this weekend and you can’t even tell: 

Image

Double Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Ingredients

  1. 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  2. 1 1/2 cups sugar
  3. 2 eggs
  4. 1 tsp vanilla extract
  5. 1 tsp peppermint extract
  6. 2 cups all purpose flour
  7. 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  8. 3/4 tsp baking soda
  9. 1/4 tsp salt
  10. 1 1/2 cups chocolate chunks
  11. 1/2 cup candy cane pieces

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Beat butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla and peppermint until light and fluffy.
  3. In a large bowl stir together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Slowly add flour mixture to butter mixture until well combined.
  5. Stir in chocolate chunks.
  6. Use cookie scoop to drop cookies onto ungreased baking sheet.
  7. Press candy cane pieces on top.
  8. Bake 8 to 10 minutes.
  9. Cool slightly then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

They were delicious; however, what you COULD tell was that I messed up and mixed the candy cane pieces IN to the cookies instead of pressing on top. I threw some sprinkles on top to give the cookies some color, but they kind of stuck to the baking sheets with the way the candy canes melted. 

I have a few go-to recipes I always use for my favorite cookies; a Betty Crocker recipe from 1978 is my favorite for chocolate chip cookies. I’m not a big sugar cookie fan around Christmas, but gingersnaps, peppermint, and chocolate are all my favorites. Do you have any favorite Christmas Cookie types or recipes? 

5 thoughts on “Baking Cookies!

  1. Those pictures remind me of why I will never have a food blog … I am THE WORST at taking food pics (well, pics in general really). They look great, and good to find things to keep you going while you are parked on the couuch … remember that recovery is serious business!

Leave a Reply

