Keep the change, you filthy animal! I

Settling in to life as a forced couch potato. Yesterday, Jeff had the day off too so we hung out on the couch a lot together. Here’s a lovely shot of me in my makeshift Christmas jammies-gotta have some use for those old race t-shirts! 

Image

getting festive!

We did manage to escape the house once yesterday for some lunch-we went to the Single Barrel Steakhouse. I had a fantastic steak salad, loaded with blue cheese, egg, a bunch of other stuff and a delicious vinaigrette. Jeff had a Single Barrel burger and couldn’t eat the whole thing! Yay for lunch leftovers. 

Image

I promise there’s some veggies under all that steak!

Today Jeff was back to work, so I was left to my own devices. I’ve been thinking of ways to keep myself occupied, so I did sneak in a bit of light organizing and cleaning as well as some baking. I made us some fantastic looking caramel brownies-recipe from pinterest, of course. I am going to try and do something that’s been hanging out on my pin boards just waiting to be attempted every day I’m at home. It’s going to be interesting, and I’m sure I’ve got some Pin Fails in me, but I think these brownies turned out pretty good. 

Ingredients:
3/4 cup all-purpose flour 
1 cup granulated sugar 
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa 
1/2 cup packed brown sugar 
1/2 teaspoon baking powder 
6 tablespoons butter 
2 large eggs 
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Cooking spray

Topping: 
 1/4 cup butter 
 1/4 cup packed brown sugar 
 3 1/2 tablespoons evaporated fat-free milk, divided 
 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract 
 1/2 cup powdered sugar 
 1 ounce dark chocolate, coarsely chopped 
 1/4 teaspoon espresso powder 
 1/8 teaspoon coarse sea salt

Image

dry ingredients-so much cocoa powder!

Image

finished product-close but not exactly right

I got a bit tired towards the end and remembered I had some of a jar of caramel in the fridge, so I just used that and melted some chocolate chips for the two toppings instead of going through all the make your own effort. I bet it’s still delicious, but I just needed a nap and also didn’t want to open a container of evaporated milk for such a small amount. 

I’m also on a bit of a mission to make some interesting lunches while I’m home, using up some of the stuff I’ve got hanging out in the fridge that Jeff and I will probably never eat together. Today was a big old salad, a piece of baked tilapia, and some sweet potato puffs I found in the freezer. Odd mixture, but it did the trick! 

Image

that salad is huge!

Other than that, not many interesting things to report. I took a couple of short walks today, and it felt great to be outside-it was 50! Tonight, Jeff’s making us some more pinterest fare-beef & broccoli. Pics and recipe forthcoming, I’ll try to get a few quotes from the chef himself as to how he’d change the recipe next time. One thing I love about Jeff is that he always, always wants to perfect things. This can make him also a little hypercritical of himself-no dinner has ever been just “damn, that’s tasty”. They could always use more of this, less of that. His palate has been changing a bit lately since he quit smoking a few weeks ago (yay!) so everything tastes sharper to him. Now, off for dinner and my first try at a new project-teaching myself to crochet! 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Keep the change, you filthy animal! I

Leave a Reply

