Cookie Cookie Cookie Start With C.

I’ve been working today on my “Year in Review” post that I realize will possibly bore 90% of you, only to have wordpress eat half my progress. I’m taking a step back (not strangling things) and sharing our new favorite cookie recipe.

Amen, kitteh.

I have several vegan friends. I’ve gone that way in the past (when I was in the great weight loss competition of 2007 with my ex. Please, people, never live with your ex. It will never “work out great” nor will you “stay wonderful friends”), but I love bacon. I’m of the “things in moderation” mindset and also the “I’ll run farther to eat more” mindset. But I can get down with some vegan creations-I don’t discriminate when stuff tastes good! So I wanted to treat Angela to some cookies last week on our sisterfriends Christmaspalooza. I found this recipe from the PostPunk Kitchen and modified a bit because of what we did and did not have on hand.

PUMPKIN OATMEAL COOKIES

These are soft out of the oven, but as they cool they are nice and chewy. They are a serious crowd pleaser, for crowds with taste buds.

Note: I use flax seeds because they make the texture a little chewier, but I’ve made them without and they’re still good!

Equipment
baking sheets
2 mixing bowls

Ingredients
2 cups flour
1 1/3 cups rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 2/3 cups sugar
2/3 cup canola oil
2 tablespoons molasses
1 cup canned pumpkin, or cooked pureed pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla
optional: 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds

1 cup walnuts, finely chopped
1/2 cup raisins

Directions
Preheat oven to 350. Have ready 2 greased baking sheets.

Mix together flour, oats, baking soda, salt and spices.

In a seperate bowl, mix together sugar, oil, molasses, pumpkin and vanilla (and flax seeds if using) until very well combined. Add dry ingredients to wet in 3 batches, folding to combine. Fold in walnuts and raisins.

Drop by tablespoons onto greased cookie sheets. They don’t spread very much so they can be placed only an inch apart. Flatten the tops of the cookies with a fork or with your fingers, to press into cookie shape. Bake for 16 minutes at 350. If you are using two sheets of cookies on 2 levels of your oven, rotate the sheets halfway through for even baking. You’ll have enough batter for 4 trays.

Remove from oven and get cookies onto a wire rack to cool. These taste best when they’ve had some time to cool and set. They taste even better the next day!

I subbed almonds for walnuts and cranberries for raisins. OMG DO THAT. They are SO good. They work for breakfast, night snack, or whenever. It was serendipity that while at the Library checking out a book the other night, I saw her cookbook on a display and grabbed it too. I like to go kind of meatless during the day and then eat whatever Jeff cooks me at night, and this looks like it’s got some great recipes to work with.

Other than the cookies of amazeballs, I’ve been taking it easy! Got back to running, today was my first day back at work, and I even made it through my first power pump back at the gym over lunch. Trying to decide if I go back to two a days this week or next-I suppose I should ease back in, but since when do I ease?  I’m also doing a lot of knitting, since we drove 6 hours in 2 days this last weekend and I needed to stay occupied. I’ll show you guys what I’ve been making once I have a chance to give my friend the set I just finished for her. Making stuff is fun, giving it to people you love is even better!

6 thoughts on “Cookie Cookie Cookie Start With C.

Leave a Reply

