Throwback Thursday!

Throwback Thursday!

Had a lot of fun digging out some old photos last weekend for my Spill it Sunday post, so I thought I’d keep the fun rolling with a Throwback Thursday post.

This photo is me getting a horsey ride from my Grandpa as my Great Grandpa looks on. Both of these men were such big personalities, although they’re gone there are still so many memories associated with them. Great Grandpa was the quintessential Polish farmer. I remember the way he pronounced words-I don’t think even hooked on phonics could help me spell some of the ways he said things but they were very distinct. I don’t have a single memory of him without overalls on, and I just remember how much he loved his wife.

My Grandpa, giving me the horsey ride, was the best guy ever. Bar none. I just could never say enough good things about him. He was the most patient guy ever-he used to let us grandkids play beauty shop on him and “style” his hair. Which pretty much NEVER moved from its original style. It was actually a fun challenge. We’d give him comb overs, slicked back, combed down the front, and the second he moved, it would spring right back to its original position. He LOVED telling me stories about the war (WW2) of course, and there was a photo of his ship with everyone on deck that I always loved searching for him in.

And then there’s that 2-3 year old girl in the middle…don’t know where she went! I do know that I LOVE the look on my face…whoa, horsey!

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday!

  1. So sweet! I love finding old pictures which in turn trigger some of the most wonderful memories from childhood! As annoying as my circle of friends might find my picture taking, they’ll be grateful 20 years from now when I have proof of how dorky we are. 🙂 Happy Thursday!

  2. What an adorable picture! So you are Polish heritage as well – I was amazed when we were little and would visit my mother’s Babci (grandmother) in central Massachusetts and there was a whole population center there, and even a Polish church where the priest did mass in Polish!

    I really adore TBT pretty much everywhere for the ability to see stuff like this … thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

