Serious Question

Yawwwwn.

So, lately since I’m fully cleared to get back to the gym, I’ve been trying to just pick up my old routine like nothing changed. My “old” routine usually consists of about 4 2-a-days and 2-3 single workout days. For example: 

Monday=lunch lifting/cardio class for 35, afternoon 3 mile run

Tuesday=lunch lifting/cardio class for 35, afternoon SIC (strength Interval Cycling) class for 50, Power Pump class for 55. 

Wednesday=lunch lifting/cardio class for 35, afternoon boot camp for 60 with occasional cardio after. 

Thursday=lunch gym cardio for 35, afternoon gym cardio for 60 or 40-60 minute run outside

Friday=lunch gym cardio for 35

Saturday/Sunday=one long run day, one recovery day. 

My question is this: I would prefer to lose a few pounds, although I don’t really have a desire to change what I eat or restrict my diet further. I’m usually in the 1800 calorie per day range. I do this routine without fail but don’t seem to get a lot of results. Do I overtrain? Is this level of activity too much? When Spring rolls around I’ll be adding another 40 minutes/weekday of cycling to and from work, though that’s not a particularly intense workout. I don’t want to be shooting myself in the foot, but I also am happy to work harder if that’s what I need to do to see results. But lately, I am TIRED. I’m sure it’s just getting back to my regular levels of activity, but I can barely stay awake past 9:30 this week! 

Any advice for me? 

 

13 thoughts on “Serious Question

  1. It doesn’t sound like you’re over training but your doing two a days, 4 days a week sounds, in and of itself, tiring. Doing 60-90 minutes of cardio, 5 days a week, 35 one days and a recovery day sounds like a great training plan but I know for myself going to the gym twice a day would wipe me out. Maybe you could try fitting those workouts into one trip to the gym a day? I do recall doing two a days, with my college track team in preparation for our spring season, but we only did that for two weeks and then got our workouts down to once a day.

    Good luck! Sounds like you’re working very hard!

  2. It seems like a lot for me. In my opinion there is no need for 2 a day workouts unless you are training for an event or if you don’t have time to get the miles in that you need that day so you break it up. I would for sure listen to your body though. I get more tired in the winter sometimes so I scale back workouts so I can get more rest. If you feel comfortable doing that much and your body can handle it then go for it!

    • Thanks for the feedback! I like using my lunch hour to get a workout in, although 35ish minutes isn’t usually enough time to get in a good run for me so I do strength training a lot those days. I probably would do well to add a bit more rest time in, but it’s just so hard to say for sure!

      • Maybe just try taking your lunch workout away for one day and see if it helps. The change doesn’t have to be drastic to make a difference. After the holidays it’s always slow for me to get back into my previous routine. This is the first week I’ve actually stuck to my planned workouts since Thanksgiving.

  3. I’ve found myself in a similar situation. And then I found myself working out way too much. Less is more! HIIT workouts, strength training, etc.

    I’ve also learned its 80% what you’re eating. That’s the hardest party for me! 🙂

    Good luck!

    • Thanks, Courtney! It seems pretty easy to work out too much. Hubby gave me a Garmin for Christmas, and it’s pretty addicting to have an accurate calorie burn to watch go up and up and up. Setting calorie goals is a big thing I do that I probably need to watch.

      • Oh I hear you on that! Those fun little devices are addicting. I don’t even feel like I’ve worked out if I’m not wearing it… Silly but I’m about 75% serious. Lol

  4. I have no idea – I know I am fortunate that when I run my body pretty much tells me what to eat, and it is all good stuff and I lose weight. But it is weird, since going back to work after the holidays I am eating the same stuff as before and basically doing the same sorts of runs, but by mid-afternoon I am hungry again. I keep apples or pears for snacks, and have powered through them these last two weeks. Weird.

  5. In my opinion, you are doing too much with not enough rest days. There is no reason to train twice per day if you’re trying to lose a few pounds only. If time is an issue, make your short sessions HIIT. Instead of cardio HIIT, do weights based circuits. It also sounds like you need to change things up a bit. How long have you been doing this routine?
    I am a huge advocate of weight lifting. What sort of lifting are you doing? Weight lifting increases muscle mass which increases your metabolism and allows you to burn more calories at rest. All of your cardio may be hindering muscle gains…which is totally ok if running is your main goal.
    Best of luck

    • I’ve been doing the routine on and off for prob 6 months-ish. I just got back to it about 3 weeks ago after major surgery put me on the couch for the month of December. Most of my lifting is in power pump-like classes -I make sure I’m picking up weights about 3-4 times a week. I’m thinking switching my lunch routines into more of a HIIT circuit is something I’m going to try. Running is my main goal, and I think I need to forget about “trying” to lose weight and work out so that my endurance gets better, and everything will follow. Thanks for your input-I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

