What I Made Wednesday-Enchilauras

Wait, that’s not the traditional Wednesday blog? Doesn’t matter, I’m making it happen. Anybody who’s read a few of my blogs catches on pretty quickly that I’m not the chef in our family-that honor goes to Jeff. I feel guilty every so often for making him slave over a hot stove for me every night so once or twice a week I try to take care of dinner. And just because I don’t do all the cooking doesn’t mean I suck at it-I can do pretty decent in the kitchen but I tend to get a little flustered when I have several items going at once. I’m better at casserole type things, soups, and crock pot cookery, while Jeff can juggle 5 things at once and still find time to make an awesome cooking playlist on Spotify. 

One of my specialties that Jeff requested immediately when we got back together was my “Enchilauras”. Did anyone else watch King of the Hill? It’s my Spapeggy and Meatballs, people. I make my enchiladas loosely from a recipe I got in my old Bill Phillips “Eating for LIfe” cookbook, but it’s really just a starting point for me, and I actually didn’t even pull out the cookbook last night. SO, without further ado, here’s the recipe for Enchilauras: 

2-3 chicken breasts, poached and shredded

6ish green onions

cilantro-to taste

garlic-to taste

chili powder-to taste

1 can green chiles

2 cans of your fave enchilada sauce

tortillas of choice-last night was 10 flour tortillas. Jeff and I just aren’t big corn tortilla people but if that’s your jam, have at it. 

1 bag shredded Taco cheese (usually a mix of cheddar & monterrey jack)

lettuce, tomato, salsa, sour cream-for garnish

The key to my enchiladas, I think, is that I poach the chicken breasts all day in the crock pot with enough water to cover them and some taco seasoning thrown in for good measure. Once you’ve got that, let it cool and shred it. Saute the chopped garlic, cilantro & green onions in a skillet, and then add the green chiles. Once those have been warmed up, throw in one can of enchilada sauce and the chicken. Add a dash of whatever seasonings you like, and once everything has blended, fill your flour tortillas with the chicken mixture. Throw another can of sauce on top and dress with cheese. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until the edges are bubbly. Serve with your choice of garnish. 

Image

This is why I’ll never be a food blogger. My recipes aren’t exact and my food staging leaves plenty to be desired. But that’s OK, I’ll be over here mowing through some leftover enchilauras and not being sad. 

Not related to food in any way but I’ve just had some strange run ins with people who don’t know how to act in public lately! Yesterday I was in our work restroom and some lady walks in and starts unbuttoning/unzipping her pants as she’s walking to the stall. Um, let me clear out lady, because clearly you got some BUSINESS to take care of. And then today, I was at our gym and 2 teen girls were fresh from the swimming pool and showering off, and decided to come out to the changing area to wring out their wet hair. I shudder to think of the wet socks people got stepping in that-wet socks are the WORST! What is up with people lately? Had any weird etiquette situations come up lately? 

5 thoughts on “What I Made Wednesday-Enchilauras

  1. I totally stepped in a puddle of wet water at the gym today, in the changing area of the locker room. Wet socks abounded.

    I’m love the Enchilaura. You can call it whatever you want so long as you make me one. 😉 I write recipes the same way. Dash of this, pinch of that, taste, add more, eat.

    • Wet socks are the WORST! My dog has a bit of a drinking problem, and whenever he is thirsty you know it by the trail of water left from the bowl to where he’s at, so I’m a bit snarky about them to begin with. But at the gym? Not cool, chiquita. NOT COOL.

      Come over for enchilauras any time! We firmly believe in our house that recipes are simply an outline to a dish, and then you fill it out with all your favorite stuffs.

  2. haha your posts always give me a chuckle! I am going to have the give the Enchilaura a try! I am always on the look out for a good Enchilada(laura) recipe.
    When ya gotta go, ya gotta go haha but ya seriously. It’s like someone who starts showering beside you or across from you, in the gym locker room, when there are plenty of other empty showers. GEEEEEEZ

  3. Actually I think it looks pretty great 🙂 I talk a lot about dealing with food allergies and sensitivities, so any time something good comes along I am game to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

