Travel Log Tuesday-Chicago

So, last week, we took a trip to Austin. The very weekend before that trip, my friend Molly and I took a weekend in Chicago-last December was quite cosmopolitan for me! We had quite the girls weekend. There was good food:

dim sum

Dim Sum in Chinatown

The best breakfast I'd ever had. Seriously.

The best breakfast I’d ever had. Seriously.

HOT DOUG!

HOT DOUG!

There was a great run along the pier:

navy  pier

This run may also have ended in the bloody sock of doom.

Some interesting views:

View from Oprah's house...er, the Hancock building

View from Oprah’s house…er, the Hancock building

Drag Queen Dinner Show

Drag Queen Dinner Show

And lots of walking and shopping!

my first topshop experience left a little (coverage) to be desired.

my first topshop experience left a little (coverage) to be desired.

What I remember most about this trip was walking all over Chicago with my friend, tons of delicious food, and our “hotel night”. We weren’t sure what we wanted to do/eat/drink, so while we were debating we found Inception just starting on the TV and decided to just stay in. Some of Chicago’s famous popcorn (whose name escapes me) was our dinner-we’re both popcorn freaks. I think we’d even grabbed some wine from a strange little bodega near Hot Doug’s. But that sleepy night just eating popcorn, reading books, and catching up was just what we needed. It seems like each time I take a trip, one night is spent just being together with my companion at the hotel, and it’s actually kind of a nice “tradition”. Seeing all the sights is great, and a priority for sure, but having some down time and being with your travel buddy is why you’re there in the first place, so to me it’s important to see both sides of the coin.

This trip to Chicago came about 3 months after Jeff had taken a solo trip to Chicago of his own. We’d both been there before, and we went separately in 2012, but we’ve vowed that soon we need to make a trip together. Chicago is a fun town and easy for Midwesterners to get to, so it’s a perfect weekend getaway. I’d like to say someday I’ll surprise him with a trip but A) He’s probably reading this and B) I’m the worst secret keeper ever. I’d never be able to hold it together. However announced or unannounced the trip is, I hope we get there soon. It’s been 5 months since we’ve traveled together, and I’m starting to get the “itch” like crazy! Of course, most of my wanderlust can be satisfied by planning our Anniversary trip to France, but nothing beats actual travel.

Favorite weekend getaway? I’d say either Chicago or Kansas City-Jeff and I took a weekend trip to KC last summer that I’ll Travel Log soon…it was a fun road trip!

 

10 thoughts on “Travel Log Tuesday-Chicago

  1. Yes, we ate very well on that trip. And, I enjoyed our night-in eating popcorn, too. That is one of the best parts of travel – the relaxing in a hotel room after a busy day of sight-seeing. I still have my overall and bowtie t-shirt from that very large, very friendly man we met in the elevator!

  2. It has been years since I went to Chicago (like 20 years) … would love to get back at some point, was there for a conference and had extra time to explore with coworkers … fun stuff!

Leave a Reply

