Monday Morning Musings

One of my favorite things about running is that when you’re in the middle of a good one, your mind can wander off into the little caverns of memory, planning, or whatever instead of constantly doing “run math”. You know what I mean. “I’ve got x miles left, which is about y minutes…come on, you can do that!”. Am I the only person who does that? Please, tell me no. 

Anyway, this weekend’s long run and a little drive Jeff and I took got me thinking about perspective. It fixes everything, you know. It’s really hard to get perspective when you’re in the moment sometimes, but once you’re looking backwards, hindsight is 20/20. And it happens to everything. That run I had this weekend? There were some good moments, but I spent a lot of it beating myself up and “wanting” to quit. And when I had to stop and get a drink? Felt like a failure, like I wasn’t performing according to my “plan”. Got home, got showered up, and realized: “shut up, internal voice, I ran 7 miles and that’s all that matters. Not every run is like prancing through the forest and singing with the birds, after all”. 

Jeff and I were having a weekend-long discussion of our fictional dinner parties. You know, “if you could have dinner with one person, alive or dead, who would it be?” Jeff’s answer: Julia Child. My answer? My dad. We are both food nerds so we extended it to the 10 person dream chef’s table. Tried to make it a mixture of people we know and awesome chefs we’d love to meet. And that’s where my mind wandered. It reminded me of when Top Chef was doing the “Just Desserts” rounds.Which reminded me of when I had a thing for Johnny Iuzzini.

Image

And now I realize my husband looks a bit like him…I win at life!

Which reminded me of when I was single and would watch like 3 episodes of TV on my DVR while going to bed and how the simple things are always what’s made me happy. Big stuff can disappoint you or it can be awesome, but a simple pleasure is always a simple pleasure. It just reminded me of how when I was single, all I could think about was how I was ALONE, and now that I’m looking back I realize how enjoyable it can be to just spend some time alone. It’s all in how you look at it. 

I’ve always been a bit of a pessimist. A lot sarcastic. A shade doom and gloom-I called it realism. But I’ve realized that there’s something to be said for seeing life as a half-full glass. Doesn’t make you cheesy, or too peppy, or any of those bright connotations dark and twisty Laura hated. It just means you see the good in things, and there’s nothing wrong with that. 

Deep Thoughts by Jack Handy Laura Anderson. 

.Image

6 thoughts on “Monday Morning Musings

  1. Good stuff, Anderson. I had similar feelings of doom when I swam 4.5 hours and didn’t complete my 6-hour cold swim qualifier for the English Channel last week. I wallowed in self doubt for about an hour, then decided to pull my head out and change my perspective: I swam longer in water colder than I’d ever swum in before. Not many other channel swimmers are even attempting their qualifying swims this early and now I know I need to focus on getting faster and fatter. That last part is the best part of cold water swimming training. More butter, please.
    Also, I like your comment about being slightly pessimistic, although I don’t think I’d use that term to describe you. You are one of the most determined and authentic people I know, which is why I hold you near and dear. You’re no Velveteen Rabbit, you’re REAL 🙂

    • How did I not see this until now? Argh! Anyway, you’re the best, and I was so, SO impressed with your 4.5 hour swim! That is such an accomplishment and a great step on your way to your goal. You’ve got some pretty major cheerleaders in your corner and I can’t wait to see you get there!

  2. As always you make me chuckle and think. I am sarcastic, cynical … and an optimist. I am trusting and loyal – which means I get great joys, and get absolutely thrashed.

    As for ‘running math’ … well, I do work as a statistician and measurement engineer, so sometimes my ‘run math’ actually IS doing math … haha!

  3. I remember Deep Thoughts by Jack Handy. Very funny.
    I’m a big believer in looking at the positive OR changing your expectations. Instead of I was supposed to do a 7 mile non stop run, how about I’d like to get in a run today. That’s actually what I try to accomplish with my Week In Review. So what if there’s still unchecked items on my list; look at all the stuff I did get done. Perspective and expectations can play a big role in your outlook on life.

Leave a Reply

