Spill it Sunday-BOOK IT edition

Image

Spill it Sunday is here again! Hope everyone’s having a great weekend. Today is going to be a pretty lazy Sunday for us…and I love it! Arman is hosting another Spill it Sunday, and this week we’re talking about books. I LOVE reading and am a total book nerd, so this is right up my alley.

1. Favorite novel(s) of all time? Gosh, it’s hard to name just one. I love love love “The Art of Racing in the Rain”-it’s a book any pet lover should read. I also really enjoy Stephen King’s “Duma Key”. I need to go back and read some more of his older works, but this one is one I can read again and again. There’s tons of other books that I love too, check out my goodreads if you are seriously that interested. I will say I just finished “Tell the Wolves I’m Home” and it was really well written. Some of the passages and phrases really stick with me.

2. Favourite genre? I generally gravitate towards more mystery, crime, or even a bit of sci-fi. I also like some autobiographies and memoirs, and a few educational novels too-mostly about food. 🙂

3. Favourite childhood novel/Favourite teen novel? Oh, gosh. I was a bookworm as a kid too-does anyone else remember the “Book it” program through Pizza Hut? Anyway, as a younger girl, I loved “Wait Till Helen Comes”. It was super spooky and actually kind of bonded me and my friend Jen as adults. She was trying to explain her fear of open water swimming before went to a triathlon, and was trying to explain this book to me, and I instantly knew what it was. What are the odds of that? Friend karma right there.

Image

As a teenager, I read everything by Christopher Pike. I loved his adult novel “The Season of Passage” and have always wondered why nobody’s made it into a movie yet. Actually, I’ve always wondered why nobody’s made any of his books into movies. That would be epic. And super dramatic.

4. Favourite Series? I’ll go ahead and admit to reading lots of series as a teen/young adult, but not much since then. Vampire Diaries (yes it was a super cheesy book series before becoming a delightfully cheesy tv series), Secret Circle, Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley whatever, I read it all. I have tubs of my adolescent books saved somewhere to give to some deserving tween someday.

5. Which book would you hope future generations will continue to consider a classic? Oh, gosh! I am not sure. I just hope some of my favorites get discovered too, but I don’t really care what people consider a “classic”.

6. Books I didn’t make it through-The Woman Upstairs and Office Girl. I can usually stick it out, but I couldn’t get into the first one and Office Girl was literally the most terrible thing I’ve ever tried to read. I can’t even convey-I chose to sit on a plane for hours in silence instead of reading that drivel.

And because Arman always requests a selfie…

Image

How’s this for a selfie, Arman?

7 thoughts on “Spill it Sunday-BOOK IT edition

  1. Definitely love “The Art of Racing in the Rain” … OH the feels! 🙂 I had never heard of the Book It program … it started when I was in college (a bit late) and we never heard about it for our kids … well, the Pizza Hut closest to us in Massachusetts was disgusting so we only went there once!

Leave a Reply

