Monday Musings

Monday, you’re here already? It seems like it was JUST Friday! This weekend was a busy one full of babies. Seriously. Friday night we threw a baby shower for my friend Jen, and Sunday we went to visit Jeff’s cousin and their new baby. In between that baby sandwich, I got in a couple of decent runs and got a little concerned about my knee. So today’s musings are pretty runner-heavy, but I need some advice, people: 

1) Inner knee trouble. Internet research makes me think this is more serious than outer knee stuff-that I relate back to my IT band. This inner knee pain is worse when I’m not running than when I am. Does diminish after some rest, but just feels different than my IT band issues. Hoping it’s nothing serious, I’m going to keep an eye on it. 

2) “Recovery Week”. I’ve had a few people tell me, as well as some internet plans corroborate, that after increasing mileage for about 3-4 weeks, you need a week of less mileage to let your body recover. Seems like a solid idea-how much less do I need to run? And do I sub in other exercise instead of running, or legitimately just slow down for a week to let muscles rebuild? I don’t know. 

Staying pretty busy at work lately, so that’s all I have! Help a sister out if you’ve got some advice! 

10 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. My training plans build up for two weeks, and then cut back a week and so on. I’d say my cut back weeks are 7-10 (give or take) miles less than the week before and they include easy runs instead of intervals and fast runs.

    Knee pain sucks! I know your MCL could be considered “inner” knee (tore mine and that’s where my repair scar is). Either way, I hope it heals quickly for you!

  2. I have read the same thing – a couple of weeks ramping then pull back for a week, and so on. And when you are trying to pull back, I think non-running stuff would be a good idea.

    Hope there is nothing serious with your knee!

  3. Whenever I’ve done a training plan with a cut back week, it’s reduced intensity (no hills or speed work) and mileage. Mileage is usually reduced 25-30% and also dropped one run (so instead of 5 days was 4 days) to help recover.
    Knees are super tricky to diagnose. I might recommend laying off running until you’re truly painfree, or visiting a doc just to see what you’re dealing with. I’ve used this site in the past to do some self diagnosis (it’s not always 100% correct, but gives you an idea). https://therunningbug.co.uk/training/injury/b/weblog/archive/2012/03/21/knee-pain-identifying-and-treating-knee-pain-in-runners.aspx

  4. knee stuff is not a joke! oh gosh! i have had many minor pains and aches over the years as a runner and it’s all about moderation and cross training (for me). 🙂 definitely decrease your mileage after a steady increase but that does not mean you can’t do anything! do a circuit, swim, bike, something that still gets your heart rate up but nothing that’s as hard on your body as running. though, with signs of pain like that, definitely don’t push it. do what’s best for you!!

Leave a Reply

