What I Ate Wednesday

OK, guys, I have a confession. I forgot to take photos of last night’s dinner. To give a myriad of excuses, I was hangry, I’d taught 2 classes at the gym, ran 4 miles, and worked an 8 hour day, and we had company over. I just wanted to eat the food. The other excuse? We make this dinner about once a year-it’s delicious, but probably not very good for you. Definitely not very good for you. So when Jeff is finishing this meal off, I have to go to the other room so I can’t see the grease and whatnot. Good man-he makes me a gorgeous plate of food and just brings it to me. So I was hiding in the basement (it sounds terrible, but that’s where our living room is) when this baby came out of the oven.

But, I’m going to share the recipe. Disclaimer-I tried to find you guys a photo of this that captured it’s majesty, but the google images were hilarious. One was even a bottle of whisky. This could be because meatloaf isn’t particularly photogenic. But it is tasty as hell, so I forgive it.

Rachel Ray’s Meatloaf Brasciole 

Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds ground beef, pork and veal mix from the butcher’s counter (meatloaf mix)
Salt and pepper
1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
1 egg
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 small white onion, grated
2 tablespoons golden or dark raisins, chopped
3 tablespoons pine nuts, chopped
3 tablespoons grated cheese, Parmigiano or Romano
2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley
1 cup arugula leaves or baby spinach
6 slices prosciutto di Parma
6 slices deli sliced provolone

Directions
Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Mix meat and next 10 ingredients as if you were making meatloaf. Flatten meat out on a waxed paper lined cookie sheet into a thin layer: 1/2-inch thick, 12 inches long by 6 to 8 inches wide. Cover meat with arugula or spinach, prosciutto and cheese then roll the meat, using the waxed paper to help roll up into a large log, working across the 6 to 8-inch side, resulting in a 12-inch long log. Drizzle the log with extra-virgin olive oil to coat lightly.

Roast meatroll 20 minutes.

*Chef’s notes: we use ground beef and a bit of italian sausage instead. We also lower the temp of the oven a bit and roast it longer-otherwise the ends get a little burnt and the middle stays rare.

This dinner is amazing. Like, AMAZING. Throw together some mashed potatoes and roasted green beans? BAM. Got yourself a nice little dinner right there.

And to close, here’s a photo that made me laugh more than it should have:

pho magestic

Happy Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

Leave a Reply

