Am I cranky or are they tacky?

Everyone has undoubtedly heard about the suicide of Robin Williams by now. It’s sad, it’s all over every news page and feed, and it’s a reminder to hold onto those you love. But I’m feeling a bit apprehensive about the number of bloggers I see in my facebook feed trying to use this tragedy to start a discussion and stir up traffic. I just don’t feel like that’s in good form. Maybe it’s just me and maybe I’m cranky, but “Oh, no, Robin Williams died! New blog link in the comments-what’s your favorite movie of his?” just seems tacky and tasteless. 

In more “Laura is basically a grumpy old grandma these days” news, it seems like I’m falling apart these days! Tomorrow we have an appointment to check how severe the return of my endometriosis is, and hopefully from there we can formulate a game plan or schedule the next surgery. My left leg has been bugging me for about 3 weeks, and I can’t decide if I should start by getting a massage and see if that helps or if I should go straight to the dr at this point. I did get a pedicure while this has been going on, and they do give a bit of a massage there and it didn’t help. Any runners feel free to chime in on this-my lower left leg, both front and back (or maybe that means in the bone?) just feels a stabby pain and like it’s heavier than the other when I start running. The pain fades a bit while running, but if I stop and start then I go through the cycle of “OUCH! OUCH ouch ow OK I’m cool now” all over again. Then after the workout, my leg will be sore and the pain radiates down to my heel. If I get up in the middle of the night to pee or get a drink, my heel really hurts for the first few steps. My online research is pretty sure it’s fatal, so any contradictory theories are appreciated. 

I’m also just very exhausted lately. Took a brief nap after work yesterday, which means I’ve just fallen asleep in the middle of the day for 4 days in a row, and my eyes are all red and bloodshot like I’ve been on a bender (I promise I haven’t). Today’s my 3 hour gym day, and I’m hoping I make it through without curling up on a weight bench for 5 minutes! 

So, basically, today’s blog post=Laura’s a big whiner. Tell me something good and cheer me up here, friends! And as always, lets end on a funny note! 

giggles

Guys? Guys, why are you laughing? I don’t get it.

3 thoughts on “Am I cranky or are they tacky?

  1. I totally agree with you – I have no issue with anyone choosing to commemorate him however they want, but when it comes across as a pretty blatant hit-grab I don’t like that. And since I’ve never done something like a RIP post on my blog I didn’t do one here either. I noted it on Facebook right before it exploded (my younger son heard it on Twitter, the fastest news source in the world!), but that is about it.

    So sorry again about your endometriosis … that just really sucks all the way around. 😦 I have no thoughts on your leg unless you are the product of alien experimentation and this is the transition period while your body adapts to the new leg?

    And since my post today was about pet peeves … not much help on the funnies haha

  2. I usually give a big, “meh” when I hear about a celebrity passing. But RW was different for me. I was actually crying. At. Work. For God’s sake. So yes, I did break down and write about it in my blog, but believe you me, it wasn’t for hits. I just couldn’t get it out of my mind.
    I wish I could give you some medical advice on your leg. But I don’t have any experience with it. And my WebMD License recently expired.

    • WebMd gave me lifetime license for only cancer diagnosis; you didn’t get the same?

      I get real grief. I read the initial report and zzz felt a hollow in my chest. But you’d better believe I didn’t feel the initial reports meant I needed to start a discussion on anything other than processing my own grief. Not to get hits, talk about the movies, or say what happened was wrong. And I’m pretty sure anyone reading this blog felt the same.

Leave a Reply

