Wednesday Wanderings

I took a walk Tuesday after work, and it was one of those where you look around and think:

The sky is so blue!
The air is so crisp!
I AM SO HAPPY TO BE ALIVE!!!!!!!!

It’s like going for a walk gets me high sometimes. Seriously. The existential thoughts and happy trees going through my mind would make Willie Nelson blush. Some of my thoughts:

a nice leisurely walk outside is so invigorating. Resolution: make 10,000 step goal on my phone each day, by taking a walk or by gym exercise.

I don’t want a fancy house. They seem expensive. And time consuming. I want my modest house I can furnish mostly how I want, and to save any excess for my eventual move to Europe. Which brings me to…

I will live in Europe no longer than 30 years from now. Watched House Hunters International again today, totally bad news for me. BUT, apartments in Spain were like $800 a month! We can afford that. We WILL afford that. I’ll do nothing but work in cafes and bakeries 18 hours a day if I have to, but I will absolutely make it happen.

After my walk, took a nice deliciously long bath and Jeff made pasta for dinner. And when I say “made pasta”, I mean it.

jeffpasta1

jeffpasta2

jeffpasta

 

I spent a good part of Monday processing down tomatoes to make some homemade pizza sauce. We’ve been growing basil in our garden. The only thing in the meal that we didn’t make ourselves was the wine and some parmesan cheese we sprinkled on top (Trader Joe’s shredded, not that grated crap in a can!). I cannot convey how delicious it was. And I want to point out that Jeff made that pasta by hand with a giant rolling pin. We’re scouring ebay, craigslist, and the like for a decently priced pasta attachment so he can do this more often. What can we say, we’re Irish by blood and Italian by heart!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Wanderings

  1. I am definitely plotting to get Lisa a pasta maker attachment for our Kitchen-Aid for the same reason 🙂

    And agree on the parmesan cheese – I grew up on the powder-in-plastic stuff … not until many years later did we discover that the real stuff wasn’t too expensive (or maybe the price came down?) – and we’ve never looked back!

    And you once again hit on the theme you had the other day “I’m ready to find what I love doing again” … moving to Europe, modest house, money where it matters. Yep, all fantastic things!

    And gorgeous walks? Oh, yes!

Leave a Reply

