Things I’ve Learned in My Thirties

I am frighteningly close to being categorized in my “Late Thirties”. Hell, when I input my stats on the machines at the gym, I now have to kick the median “35” up a notch instead of down. The thought of leaving mid thirties and hitting late thirties can be scary. I saw this buzzfeed article recently and it made me think about what I’ve learned in my thirties.

It’s OK not to finish what you’ve started. I used to read every page of the magazine, watch every episode of the TV show, finish a book that I didn’t like because I had some misplaced, grim sense of follow through. But you know what? We know what we like now. If I don’t want to read one or two articles in my Entertainment Weekly, I don’t. If I’m not enjoying a show, I cancel my subscription. If the book doesn’t hook me, it goes back. Time is precious. And though there’s still lots of things I want to learn how to do, I’ve quit trying to shove a square peg in a round hole.

You can stay home if you want. There was a time when I felt like I had to be out, be seen, do all the things! And you know what? Geez, it was exhausting. If, at the end of the day, I want to sit on my couch and spend time with my dog…well, he’s a pretty darn good listener. And you know what? It makes going out more special.

A bad workout isn’t the end of the world. Admittedly, this one is more of a work in progress. But a few years ago, if I’d had an off day at the gym and had to cut my workout 10-15 minutes short, I’d try to make it up after work, hit it harder next time, or even not eat something to compensate for the calories not worked off. But fitness is cumulative. If a workout that I normally can sweat right through brings me to my knees, there’s probably a reason. Maybe you’re fighting off a cold you don’t know about. Maybe you slept bad last night, you’re still sore, or any number of things. Tomorrow’s a new day, and a bad workout is still better than none at all.

Your style is your own. I’ve seen some of the clothes in stores lately, and they frighten me. I will not be wearing acid washed jeans, overalls, or any shoes with a pointy heel. It doesn’t work for me, and I won’t pretend it does. See above about shoving a square peg in a round hole. But my point is, you’ve found what works for you, and you’ve come to accept that just because something is trendy, doesn’t mean you have to do it.

You don’t have to keep your home exactly like your mom/grandma/whomever did. I keep my home in a pretty decent state of tidiness. Is everything dust free? No. Are my baseboards scrubbed clean, windows glistening in the sun, and all dishes done at all times? No. But my husband and I have come to a place where we’re happy, things are tidy and clean, and I don’t have to worry my epitaph will read “Here lies Laura, her home was spotless”. If I want to read a book instead of dusting my bedroom, that’s fine.

Treat. Yo. Self. You’ve learned what makes you happy. Do that. Do it as often as you can. My evening bath is literally my happiest point in the day. It’s me time. Find your me time, your happy place, and be there as much as possible. Life’s too short to deny yourself a delicious dessert if it’s there, a nice facial scrub that makes you feel pretty, or whatever the hell floats your boat.

Failure is OK. I am really into the idea of woodworking. Like, refinishing tables, building things, whatever. My first refinished table? Not that great. But I’m learning. And in learning it’s OK to fail. It’s also OK to try something new and hate it. I tried to get all crafty and make our own coasters, and other related pinterest projects. Some Most of them did not turn out pretty. I tried Zumba once. Didn’t like it. DID try becoming an instructor at my gym and loved it. Trying and failing is OK; how else do you know what you like?

OK, I’ve not tried THIS yet, but I’m getting more adventurous!

Your palate is an ever evolving delight. Foods you used to hate will suddenly be delicious. I can’t even list all the things that within the last 5-10 years I discovered I enjoyed. I used to have some irrational vendetta against pears & watermelon. Love them now. Still hate tropical fruit though, but I try it every so often! My wine of choice has gone from dessert wine to moscato to riesling, on through until I drink Merlot now. I would never have ate mussels a few years ago. Now? One of our special treats for dinner. I could go on and on, but to sum it up: give peas a chance. Just because you once hated something, give it a fresh try. You’ll be surprised at what you discover about yourself.

I’m sure there’s so many other nuggets of wisdom I could give you, but that should be enough to reassure you all that I’m still alive out here, finding gifs of puppies and spouting my own personal version of wisdom. Life’s good, and I’m trying to enjoy as much of it as possible right now. If that means my blogging is sporadic at best, so be it.

4 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned in My Thirties

  1. haha – love all of these. And I think they are part of a common theme – live YOUR life. Lisa and I dealt with those growing pains in our late 20s and early 30s, chipping away at things that were there due to others or what we perceived that we *should* be doing.

    I would add:

    “Getting older doesn’t mean ‘growing up’ – love what you love” – not only does being cool with whatever we like, whether it is ‘age appropriate’ or ‘gender appropriate’ allow us to free ourselves of making others happy, it also teaches kids a lesson that they don’t need to worry so much about stuff being ‘too young’ or whatever.

    As for those jeans – I am basically the same age as Cindy Crawford, so when a few years ago people were ridiculing ‘mom jeans’ and showing pics of Crawford I still think ‘hawt’. Now that they are coming back in fashion … well, I have to laugh. Just glad leisure suits from the 70s haven’t returned … have a couple of pics of my dad in those … and glad I have been able to live 30+ adult years in khakis and button down shirts without an issue 🙂

    Al;ways love your ‘hey I’m alive’ posts 🙂

    • Cindy Crawford is hot, no matter what kind of jeans she’s wearing. I started writing a response to you and realized it was more of a new topic, so I’m stuffing that back in my hat. And you men…polos and khakis are never wrong, and I am so jealous of the ease and consistency you have in your clothing!

Leave a Reply

