Just Because…

Tonight, I looked around our house and thought “I feel happy”. And I couldn’t pinpoint why, so I decided to find a million tiny reasons instead of one big reason. Thus, I’m happy just because…

you are different person each day...

Because my husband leaves his clothes in the bathroom. EVERY. DAMN. MORNING. But I pick them up every day, and I put them in the laundry, and I wash them and I dry them and I put them away, and that act makes him feel loved.

Because every time I go into a bathroom, a dog comes to make sure I didn’t die in there.

Because I am exhausted, have a brain infection, and a relapse going on that makes me sorry I pushed myself the last week. But I also have a husband upstairs cooking me dinner while singing to the Violent Femmes at the top of his lungs.

Because I have a job, a family, friends, pets, even (especially?) a home that I love. And even though some days, pieces of that puzzle or the whole damn thing make me want to scream, but I wouldn’t trade any of them for anything else.

Because I have a few trusted friends I can vent to, who can vent to me, and who remind me that shit’s never that bad.

Because it’s Christmas, and the only lists I have to worry about are the things we need for the house, the upcoming semester, and how they affect my travel lists. And that’s a good thing.

This list could be longer, but I have a freaking brain infection and I’m tired. Please don’t judge me, or do. Whatever.

kitteh

5 thoughts on “Just Because…

  1. What a wonderful post … but I am worried about you and hope you’re ok. After your last post I came home and mentioned to my wife and she got wide eyed and said ‘omg is she in the hospital?!?’

    It requires a great sense of perspective to appreciate all you have in life given the curve balls you’ve been through the last year or so. But sometimes it is those curves that remind us of how important the things we have in our life really are.

    Please take care and don’t over-do. This can be serious stuff.

    • I’m hanging in here! My dr made it sound like this is no big deal, but all the stories I’ve seen on the internet doing web md research make it sound much more severe. I think because he couldn’t detect the virus with my CBC I’m considered a pretty mild case? I am on day 2 of a serious relapse headache, though, so I am definitely going to take things easier this weekend. Thanks for the well wishes, and I’m hoping to get back on the blog train here so we’ll be chatting more frequently again!

  2. Pingback: Friday Five – Blog-ospheric Inspiration and Love | Running Around the Bend

Leave a comment